Oh no they didn’t!

3 10 2008

Project Runway Season 5

Nature Calls -or- the episode where everyone cries

 

They did it again.  No “you’re out”… no “auf wiedersehen”… nothing.  Heidi didn’t send anyone home since there was no elimination for the designers this week on Project Runway à Four people are heading into the finals. ß  But there is a catch… Only three will be showing at Bryant Park.  So very similar to last year when Chris was eliminated.  [I would have loved to see what he created on the runway.]  I was surprised by this development.  I thought the coleus inspired walking fish outfit Kenley sent down the runway was divine crap.  How on earth did that thing give Kenley consideration for Fashion Week?  It looked more like “fashion weak” than anything else.  Why would we want to see MORE from her?  Nevertheless, we will have to wait until next week to see Tim’s visits with each of the designers during their break gearing up for the big show.  Even Jerell, this week’s winner, isn’t safe.  I wonder if Tim is going to visit Kenley.  If Tim were to offer any criticism, he should worry if Kenley is going to bludgeon him with a dress form or strangle him with tulle.  When Tim Gunn offers you advice – TAKE IT!  The guy knows what he is talking about. 

 

Why does Kenley get so defensive?  Why such a thin skin?  Doesn’t it seem like fashion is a business she should not go into if she doesn’t like hearing that someone may not like an outfit she puts out?  Maybe it’s just me.  Get over it, Kenley.  We all have problems and oftentimes feel at odds with the world around us.  You just decided make enemies with the world.

 

I was a fan of Suede.  Now that he is gone I guess I will cheer for Jerell.  No one else is wowing me this year.  The whole season has seemed sort of lackluster.  There were no real standouts and little imagination was offered.  How many times did the judges ask the designers to push the envelope? 

 

I thought the visit to the New York Botanical Garden was the best part.  It was there we saw beauty and fabulous colors.  I guess these designers weren’t inspired by what they saw, or it was lost in the translation.